Plant Tissues

Priya's Learning Centre

Plant Tissues are stationary or fixed and most of them are dead. Dead cells provide mechanical strength and needs less maintenance. Some plant tissues divide through out the life while others not. So based on their dividing capacity, plant tissues are classified into: Meristematic Tissues and Permanent Tissues.

Meristematic Tissues:

  • The dividing tissues are known as Meristematic Tissues.
  • They are located at specific regions only.
  • The characteristics of cells changes as they grow and mature.
  • They have dense cytoplasm, thin cellulose walls and prominent nuclei.
  • They lack vacuoles.
  • Based on the location, meristematic cells are classified into: apical, lateral and intercalary.
    • Apical meristem – Found at the tips of stem and roots and increases their length .
    • Lateral meristem – Increases the girth of stem and roots.
    • Intercalary meristem – Present at the base of leaves or internodes.

Permanent Tissues:

  • They perform specific functions.
  • They don’t divide.
  • Their ability to…

View original post 342 more words

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s